Skip to content ↓

Learning for life

Learning for life encompasses both PSHE and Citizenship. It is studied for one hour per fortnight from year 7 to year 11. The curriculum is divided into five key strands which are:

  • Healthy Mind
  • Healthy Body
  • Relationships, Sex and Identity
  • Careers and Finance
  • Politics, Law and Order

Within these units, the statutory Citizenship national curriculum and the Relationship, Sex and Health education statutory material is covered. The curriculum is designed to be age appropriate and to encourage students to understand how to keep themselves healthy, safe and to prepare them for the challenges of life beyond the classroom. 

Alongside the taught lessons, there are also careers days, revision conferences, wellbeing activities in form time and assemblies which focus on specific areas of interest. The lessons are taught by a diverse team of teachers and external agencies such as Phase and Herts Young Homeless who are able to bring the curriculum to life.